Was this page helpful?
Yes No
Tableau Help > Tableau Online Help > 

Create a Schedule for a Tableau Bridge Data Source

This topic describes how to set up or change a refresh schedule for extract data sources you keep fresh using a Tableau Bridge client.

Tableau Bridge refresh schedules can complete successfully only if you embed your database credentials in the connection in Tableau Bridge. For steps, see Embed or update database credentials.

Schedules and time zones

When you schedule a refresh in Tableau Bridge, the time of day that appears there and on the Tableau Online schedule list reflects the time zone of the computer on which you are running Tableau Bridge.

Create a refresh schedule while publishing the data source

You can set up a Tableau Bridge schedule as you publish your extract data source to Tableau Online.

  1. While you are signed in to Tableau Online from Tableau Desktop, select Server > Publish Data Source to publish your extract data source to Tableau Online.

  2. Use the Publish Data Source to Tableau Online dialog box to configure options for your data source, and click the Publish button. This opens browser window to your Tableau Online account.

  3. In the Publishing Complete dialog box, click the Schedule Using Tableau Bridge button.

  4. In the schedule dialog box, choose a client and set the new schedule.

    • Choose the refresh client: From the Start Tableau Bridge on drop-down menu, select the computer associated with the Tableau Bridge client that you want to use to refresh the extract data source.

    • To refresh at a specific time on selected days: Select Daily, select the days of the week, and then select the time of day from the drop-down lists.

    • Note: To optimize performance on the server, refresh tasks are distributed within a range of up to five minutes of the time of day you specify. For example, if you set an hourly schedule, the occurrence set to run at 1:00 AM could run any time between 1:00 and 1:05 AM.

    • Specify full or incremental refresh: If available, specify whether you want a full or incremental refresh.

      By default, Tableau Online runs a full refresh. Incremental refresh is available only if you configured it in Tableau Desktop before publishing the extract. For information, see Refreshing Extracts in the Tableau Help.

  5. Click the Set Schedule button.

Create or change a refresh schedule using Tableau Bridge

  1. While you are signed in to Tableau Bridge, open it by selecting its icon in the system tray.

  2. Point to the data source you want to schedule, and then click the Schedule icon.

    This opens a browser window to the Refresh Schedule page in your Tableau Online account.

  3. To create a new schedule, click New Extract Refresh.

    To edit an existing schedule, select the check box next to it, and then on the Actions drop-down list, select Change Schedule.

  4. In the schedule dialog box, set the new schedule.

    • To refresh at a specific time on selected days: Select Daily, select the days of the week, and then select the time of day from the drop-down lists.

    • Note: To optimize performance on the server, refresh tasks are distributed within a range of up to five minutes of the time of day you specify. For example, if you set an hourly schedule, the occurrence set to run at 1:00 AM could run any time between 1:00 and 1:05 AM.

    • Specify full or incremental refresh: If available, specify whether you want a full or incremental refresh.

      By default, Tableau Online runs a full refresh. Incremental refresh is available only if you configured it in Tableau Desktop before publishing the extract. For information, see Refreshing Extracts in the Tableau Help.

  5. Click Schedule Refresh or Change Schedule.

Cancel a scheduled extract refresh that's in progress

In some cases, you might need to cancel an in-progress refresh of a data source managed by Tableau Bridge. To do this, follow the procedure described below.

  1. While you are signed in to Tableau Bridge, open it by selecting its icon in the system tray.

  2. Click the Cancel Refresh button. This action will cancel the active extract refresh.

Note: A client can perform one extract refresh at a time. If you need to refresh more than one extract at the same time, consider setting up additional clients on different computers to perform the extract refreshes.