Was this page helpful?
Yes No
Tableau Help > Tableau Server for Windows Help > 

Set Default Permissions at the Project Level

As an administrator or project leader, you can set a project’s permissions, as well as the default permissions that will be set on workbooks and data sources published to it.

Notes on default permissions in locked projects

You can choose to have the default permissions apply to all workbooks and data sources in a project, and ensure that no one can change those settings, by locking content permissions to the project. For more information, see Lock Content Permissions to the Project.

  • Workbooks and data sources in a locked project always use the default permissions set for content in that project. Views in a locked project always use the workbook permissions. This applies to workbooks and data sources when they are being published from desktop.

  • Administrators and users with the Project Leader permission can always edit default permissions, even when a project is locked.

  • Users, including content owners, cannot edit individual workbook, view, and data source permissions when content is locked to the project.

To set default permissions in a project

  1. In the Content page of a site, click a project, and then click Permissions in the project place page.

  2. Click Add a user or group rule, select Group or User, and then select the group or user name from the list.

    For an existing user or group, click the actions menu (. . .), and then click Edit.

  3. Select a permission role template for Project, Workbooks, or Data Sources, and then click Save.

    Or, to create a custom set of capabilities, click the Project, Workbooks, or Data Sources labels to expand the permissions view. Click capabilities to set them to Allowed, Denied, or Unspecified. Click Save.

    This example shows how to set project permissions. The same general steps apply for workbooks and data sources.

    Note: To change the settings after saving, click the actions menu (. . .), and then click Edit.

  4. View the user permissions, which are the effective permissions.

    Click a group name or user name in the permission rules to see the resulting user permissions.

    Expand the Project, Workbooks, or Data Sources permissions views to see individual capabilities.

    Hover over a capability box to see a tooltip with details on whether a capability is allowed or denied.

  5. Follow the same steps to configure additional permission rules for more users or groups.

See also

Content Access and Ownership

Manage Projects and Project Permissions

Projects and Content Permissions