Was this page helpful?
Yes No
Site Administrator Guide > Manage Content Access > Set Web Edit and Related Access on Content

Set Web Edit, Save, and Download Access on Content

If you’re enabling web authoring functionality on your site, you can configure more precisely which users on the site have access to this functionality. Using permissions rules at the content level, you can grant or deny Web edit, Save, or Download capabilities on projects, workbooks, and data sources.

Note: This document strives to use the phrase Web edit only to specify the name of the capability in permissions rules, and web authoring to refer to the general functionality of creating and modifying workbooks on the server. However, you might otherwise see these two phrases used interchangably.

Because content-level permissions give you more flexibility, they generally require a bit of planning. We recommend granting capabilities only to the people who need them.

Why allow users to work on the server directly

As an administrator, your initial thought about allowing people to populate a site with content, seemingly indiscriminately, might be one of skepticism. However, with a few controls, you can limit where this is done, while providing important benefits that centralized content management offers both you and your users.

Web authoring pros and cons

For publishers and business users, some benefits of web authoring include the following:

  • It provides analyst teams who work collaboratively with a central location in which to provide input.

  • It enables people who do not have Tableau Desktop to connect to data sources and create workbooks.

  • It enables people to access content when they are away from their Tableau Desktop computer or VPN, whether on a computer or a hand-held device.

  • It can provide a framework for enabling consistency across Tableau reports.

    By making template workbooks available on the server, analysts can download or create new workbooks with data connections, branding, and formatting already in place.

For administrators, benefits can include the following:

  • Fewer Tableau Desktop deployments to manage and support.

  • Fewer computers that need to have database drivers installed.

  • Capacity to govern content.

  • More accurate monitoring of what people are doing with Tableau.

Some disadvantages to web editing include the following:

  • For analysts, web editing functionality is not as extensive as in Tableau Desktop (although it continues to evolve toward that parity).

  • For administrators, more people working on the server might mean upgrading systems.

  • Without publishing guidelines, content proliferation on the server is expected.

    This can confuse the people who rely on published Tableau dashboards and data sources, degrade server performance and data quality, and potentially affect data security.

Managing permissions to help users avoid content proliferation

To help users to avoid content proliferation on the server, many Tableau administrators use projects to allow varying levels of access to content. For example, one project can allow all users to edit and save workbooks; another can allow only approved publishers to save new content.

To get a better idea how this works, see the following resources:

Coordinate edit capabilities and site roles for the appropriate level of access

To edit, save, and download workbooks, users must have a site role that allows those actions, along with the following capabilities—defined in permissions rules—that grant or deny editing-related access:

  • Web Edit determines whether users can edit workbooks directly on the server.

  • Download/Save As determines whether users have access to the Save As option while they are editing a view.

    Save As allows users to save changes they’ve made to an existing workbook as a new workbook on the server (not to overwrite the source workbook). It also determines whether they can open a workbook on the server from Tableau Desktop.

    Tableau treats saving like publishing, so to save new workbooks, users must have a site role of Publisher.

  • Save determines whether users can save changes to an existing workbook on the server (overwrite a workbook).

    To overwrite a workbook with changes made on the server, a user must have a site role of Publisher.

To grant Web Edit permissions

  1. Set the users’ site role to Interactor or Publisher.

  2. In the permission rules for a group or user at the workbook level, set the Web Edit capability to Allowed.

  3. Save the rule.

To grant Save and Download/Save As capabilities

  1. Set the users’ site role to Publisher.

    Users with the site role of Interactor are not allowed to save or download workbooks.

  2. On the project for which you want to allow Save and Download/Save As, create a permissions rule for the appropriate user group. In the rule, set capabilities as described in the following tables.

      Allow users with the Publisher site role to edit and save changes to existing and new workbooks

      Capability For the project For specified workbooks in the project
      Web Edit -

      Allowed

      Download/Save As -

      Allowed

      Save

      Allowed

      Allowed

      Allow users with the Publisher site role to edit and save changes to new workbooks, but not overwrite existing workbooks

      Capability For the project For specific workbooks in the project
      Web Edit

      -

      Allowed

      Download/Save As

      -

      Allowed

      Save

      Allowed

      Denied

      Important: In the “save but not overwrite” case above, allowing access at the project level is required to be able to publish to the project. To deny overwriting existing workbooks, you must deny the Save capability explicitly on each relevant workbook, and not lock permissions to the project. If project permissions are locked, permissions set on the project apply to all workbooks in it.

  3. Save the rule.

See also

Set Permissions on Individual Content Resources

Set Users’ Site Roles

Permissions Reference