Was this page helpful?
Yes No

Enable Support Access

Tableau Online administrators can allow approved Tableau support technicians to access their Tableau Online site to help troubleshoot a customer support case. By default, this feature is disabled for all sites.

When enabled, Tableau support technicians are assigned to the Support User role and granted administrator-level access to your site and its content. Tableau support technicians use this access to gather information to diagnose and reproduce issues. Tableau support technicians do not make changes to your site unless you authorize them to do so. Only Tableau support technicians can be assigned to the Support User role. You cannot add the Support User role to new or existing site users. Users assigned the Support User role do not count against the site's user limit.

When you disable support access, any users with the Support User role who are signed on to the site are automatically signed out.

  1. In a web browser, sign in to Tableau Online as a site administrator and go to the site in which you want to enable support access. In that site, click the Settings tab.

  2. Under Support Access, select Allow support access.

    To view users who have the Support User role on the site, click the Users tab.