Add Projects and Move Content Into Them

A content resource (workbooks and data sources) can live in only project. Server and site administrators can add or remove top-level projects on a site, and move published content from one project to another. Project leaders with appropriate site roles can add or remove child projects and move content between projects on which they have Project Leader access.

This article contains the steps for creating and moving projects. We recommend becoming familiar with the following related content as well:

Add a top-level or child (nested) project

  1. While you’re signed in to Tableau Online as an administrator or project leader, select the Content tab, and then do one of the following:

    • Select CreateProject to create a new top-level project (only administrators can do this).

    • Navigate to and open the project in which you want to create a sub-project, and then select CreateProject.

      If you’re not sure where to find a child project, display filters, and select Show all projects.

  2. Enter a name and description for the project, and then click Create.

    You can include formatting and hyperlinks in the project description. Select Show formatting hints for syntax. You can also Add a Project Image.

    Note: To edit a project description later, select it to open it, select the information icon next to its name, and then click Edit.

Move a content resource to another project

  1. On the Content tab, find the content resource you want to move.

    If you’re not sure where to find a child project, display filters, and select Show all projects.

    For other content types, you can navigate through its project hierarchy, or by selecting the content type on the Explore menu.

  2. On the workbook’s Actions() menu, select Move.

  3. Select the new project for the workbook, and then click Move Content.

    Moving a project includes moving everything in it, including child projects and their content.

How moving projects affects Project Leader permissions

When you move a project, Project Leader permissions adapt to the new project environment.

  • When the target project hierarchy is locked, previous Project Leader permissions are removed, and new Project Leader permissions are granted according to those set at the top-level of the target hierarchy.

  • When the target project hierarchy is unlocked (managed by owner), previous implicitly granted Project Leader permissions are removed, explicitly set Project Leader permissions are retained, and new Project Leader permissions are granted according to those set at the top-level of the target hierarchy.

Delete a project

When you delete a project, all of the workbooks and data sources in the project are also deleted from the site. If you want to delete a project but not its content, move the content to another project, and then delete the project.

Important

  • You cannot undo deleting a project.

  • Deleting a project deletes all content in it, including child projects and their content.

  • You cannot delete the Default project.

To delete a project:

  1. On the Content tab, find the project you want to remove.

    If you’re not sure where to find a child project, display filters, and select Show all projects.

  2. On the project’s Actions () menu, select Delete.

  3. Confirm that you want to delete the project.

Required access level for moving content

Moving content is effectively like removing it from one project and publishing it to another. For non-administrators, the permissions needed on the source project are different than those needed on the destination project.

Note: The term permissions role refers to the collection of related capabilities you can assign as a set.

Select a default collection of capabilities using the permissions roles.

Required site role

To move content, users must have one of the following site roles:

  • Server Administrator (Tableau Server only)

  • Site Administrator Creator or Site Administrator Explorer

  • Creator or Explorer (Can Publish)

Users with a Server Administrator or Site Administrator site role do not need any additional capabilities.

Required permissions for the project that users move content to

Non-administrators must have the Publisher or higher permissions role set on the project that is the move destination.

Required permissions for the project that users move content from

Non-administrator users must have these additional capabilities on the project:

  • Ownership of the project or the Project Leader or Publisher permissions role.

    OR

  • In a project hierarchy, project owner of, or Project Leader permissions role on the project or a parent project higher in the hierarchy.

If they have the Publisher permissions role on the project, and they are not the project owner (or owner or leader of a parent project), they must have the following capabilities:

Data sources: Data source owner

Workbooks: Workbook owner or Move capability set explicitly on the workbook.

You can grant the Move capability individually, or along with related capabilities allowed through the Editor permissions role.

Thanks for your feedback! There was an error submitting your feedback. Try again or send us a message.