Was this page helpful?
Yes No
Tableau Help > Tableau Online Help > 

Stop Keeping Data Fresh through Tableau Bridge

There are a number of ways you can stop refreshing data through Tableau Bridge.

Note: If you stop using Tableau Bridge for data sources that contain live connections, views that depend on those data sources will no longer display data and produce a blank pages instead. These views can be in workbooks or embedded in web pages.

Remove a data source from Tableau Bridge

You can stop a particular data source from refreshing or running live queries from Tableau Bridge by removing a data source from the client.

To remove a data source from Tableau Bridge, do the following:

  1. Open the Windows system tray, and select the Tableau Bridge icon to open Tableau Bridge.

  2. Point to the data source that you want to remove, and click the delete icon next to the data source name.

Stop using Tableau Bridge temporarily or permanently

  • To stop using Tableau Bridge and temporarily suspend updates to the data sources you manage in Tableau Bridge, open the client from the system tray, and on the settings menu in the upper-right, select Exit.

    When you exit, the list of data sources and their connection settings remain intact.

  • To stop the client and permanently remove the list of data sources the client links to Tableau Online, right-click the Tableau Bridge icon in the system tray, and select Unlink.

    Unlink to remove all data information and stop sending refreshes to Tableau Online

    Unlinking a Tableau Bridge client also removes all connection information from the client (and computer), including stored database credentials and Tableau Online account credentials.

Effects of exit and unlink

Effect on clients managing extract refreshes

If you exit Tableau Bridge, and the next scheduled refresh occurs while Tableau Bridge is temporarily stopped, you will see an alert on the associated data source the next time you sign in to Tableau Online. Tableau Bridge will resume refreshes at the next scheduled time or you can also run the refresh manually when you sign back in to Tableau Online.

Effect on clients managing live connections

When you unlink a client that is managing live connections, it can take up to 30 minutes to take effect. This means that a live client can temporarily run live queries through Tableau Bridge even after you unlink it.

Remove data sources’ refresh schedules after you unlink a client

When you unlink Tableau Bridge, you also must remove the associated data sources’ schedules from Tableau Online. Otherwise the refreshes attempt to run as scheduled even though no client is available. In cases like this, you might receive refresh failure notifications.

  1. Sign in to Tableau Online, and go to the Data Sources page.

  2. Click the name of the data source that you kept up to date through Tableau Bridge.

  3. On the data source page, select Refresh Schedule.

  4. Select the check box next to the schedule you created for Tableau Bridge, and then select ActionsDelete.

Permanently remove a client from a site

You can permanently remove a client from a site, which will stop refreshes from running through that particular client.

To permanently remove a client from a site, you can do one of two things, depending on your role.

If you're a publisher

  1. Sign in to Tableau Online.

  2. In the upper-right corner of the browser window, click your profile image or initials, and select My Account Settings.

  3. Under Connected clients, click Delete next to the client you want to remove from the site.

If you're a site administrator

  1. Sign in to Tableau Online.

  2. Go to the Settings page, and click the Bridge tab.

  3. Under Client status, click Delete next to the client you want to remove from the site.