Close Data Sources

You can close a data source at any time. Doing so does not modify the data source. Instead, it disconnects Tableau from the data so that you can no longer query it. Additionally, the data source is cleared from the Data pane and all open worksheets associated with the data source are cleared. If you accidentally close a data source, use the Undo button to reopen it. Close a data source by doing one of the following:

  • Right-click (control-click on a Mac) the data source at the top of the Data pane and select Close.

  • Select a data source on the Data menu and then select Close.

Thanks for your feedback! There was an error submitting your feedback. Try again or send us a message.