Was this page helpful?
Yes No
Have a comment? Please leave it here. Thanks for your feedback!
All Tableau Help > Tableau Desktop and Web Authoring Help > 
Applies to: Tableau Desktop

Set Permissions as You Publish a Data Source or Workbook

As the publisher of a workbook or data source, you can set permissions as part of the publishing process. Permissions allow or deny other users access to your published content on Tableau Server or Tableau Online. For example, who can interact with views in a workbook, edit them, or save changes to them, who can download a copy of a data source, and so on.

Permissions are separate from the type of access you set on the connection to the data. Accessing some data types requires signing in using a database name and password or embedding database credentials into the connection. For information about that, see Set Credentials for Accessing Your Published Data.

Back to permissions, with few exceptions, your best choice will be to accept the default settings in the publishing dialog box. If you agree, you can return to the Comprehensive Steps for Publishing a Workbook, and save some time not reading the rest of this topic.

The remaining sections give context and tips for when you think your workbook or data source might be an exception to the default settings, and shows you how to change the permissions.

About setting permissions during publishing

When you start the publishing process, the dialog box shows the permissions that will be applied. By default, the content you publish takes the capabilities that are already set on the server, typically as they’re set on the project you are publishing to.

As content owner, you can set permissions when you publish

When you change permissions in the publishing dialog box, you are setting capabilities explicitly for the content you’re publishing. The effect is that the workbook or data source you publish no longer inherits changes made at its parent level, such as the project. Depending on your environment, this might be as you intend, or it might conflict with the guidelines your administrator has set and have unintended consequences.

Tips for deciding whether to set permissions explicitly

How to set explicit permissions during publishing

  1. In the publishing dialog box, next to the summary that indicates the current settings, click Edit.

    Edit permissions during publishing

  2. In the popup that appears, do one of the following:

Predefined roles you can assign

When you publish a workbook, you can assign any of the following predefined roles to a selected user or group:

When you publish a data source, you can select from these roles: