Server Settings (General)

The following settings are available on the General page in Server - Settings.

Setting Description
Embedded Credentials - Allow publishers to embed data source credentials in a workbook Allows publishers to attach passwords to published workbooks that will automatically authenticate web users to connect to data sources. The passwords are attached to workbooks and are only accessible on server. That is, when the workbook is opened in Tableau Desktop, users will still need to enter a user name and password to connect to the data source. When this setting is turned off, all existing embedded passwords are saved but are not used for authentication. If you turn the setting back on, users don't have to re-embed the passwords.
Embedded Credentials - Allow publishers to schedule data extract refreshes Allows publishers to assign workbooks to schedules. This option is only available if Allow publishers to embed data source credentials in a workbook is enabled. When this setting is enabled, publishers will see scheduling options in the Publish dialog box.
Saved Credentials - Allow users to save passwords for data sources Allows users to choose "Remember my password" and save data source passwords across multiple visits, browsers, and devices. (By default, users can choose to "Remember my password until I sign out," which lets them save their password only for a single browser session.)

As an administrator, you can clear all saved passwords at any time. In addition, users can clear their own saved passwords.

Saved Credentials - Allow users to save OAuth access tokens for data sources

Allows users to store access tokens with their user preferences. Access tokens are provided by cloud data sources that support OAuth connections, and they are used instead of user names and passwords to grant access to the data.

For more information, see OAuth Connections.

Connected Devices - Allow devices to automatically connect to Tableau Server Controls whether mobile users must sign in and provide their credentials every time they connect to Tableau Server, or if users can connect with their devices to Tableau Server without providing credentials after they authenticate their device successfully the first time. For more information, see Disable Automatic Client Authentication.
Guest Access - Enable Guest account

Allows users to view and interact with embedded views without having to sign in to a Tableau Server account. Permission can be assigned to the Guest User account to control the interactivity allowed for each view. This option is only available if you have a core-based server license.

This option can be used with Enable automatic logon, an option you can select during Setup.

Default Start Page Takes you to the server's current default start page for all users. For more information on how to change the default start page, see Set the Default Start Page for All Users. Individual users will be able to override this setting (see Access Your Profile and Account Settings for details).
Language and Locale Controls the language used for the server user interface and the locale used for views. Individual users can override this setting on their Account Settings page. Also, web browser settings are evaluated first to determine which language and locale should be used. For more information, see Language and Locale for Tableau Server.
Active Directory Synchronization - Synchronize Active Directory groups on a regular schedule Controls the synchronization of all Active Directory groups in Tableau Server based on a schedule that you specify after you select the option Synchronize Active Directory groups on a regular schedule. For more information, see Synchronize All Active Directory Groups on the Server.
Recommendations Trainer

Suggests server content, such as data sources and tables, to Tableau Desktop users. Content suggestions are based on popularity of the content or on content frequently used by other users who are similar to the current user.

Scheduling options control how often the server checks for new content and new usage information to keep the recommendations up to date. New content includes new and updated data sources. New usage information includes information such as "Laura Rodriquez used the Food Catering data source" and "Henry Wilson used the Monthly Sales data source."

If you notice any impact on server performance, schedule this process to occur at a time when the server load is low. To track performance impact, look for the "Recommendations Trainer" task in the Background Tasks for Non Extracts view.

If you want to disable Recommendations, change the tsm configuration set Options option, "recommendations.enabled", to false.

Reset to Default Settings Returns any server settings that have been changed since setup to their original state.
Thanks for your feedback! There was an error submitting your feedback. Try again or send us a message.