Was this page helpful?
Yes No
Tableau Help > Tableau Server for Windows Help > 

Set Permissions for a Project

Every project includes permissions that can be set for the project, and for its workbooks and data sources. These permissions become the default permissions settings for all content in the project, and each project can have its own set of default permissions. For more information, see Set Default Permissions at the Project Level.

Administrators and users with the Project Leader permission can lock content permissions to a project. For more information, see Quick Start: Lock Project Permissions, Lock Content Permissions to the Project.

For more information on working with permissions, see Content Access and Ownership and Manage Projects and Project Permissions.

Note: When you create a new project, it initially will have the same permissions as the Default project in the site, which are the default permissions for the project, and its workbooks and data sources.

The three capabilities you can set specifically for a project are: View, Save, and Project Leader.

Capability Description

View

Allows the user or group to view the workbooks and views in the project. The View capability must also be allowed for the individual workbooks and views in the project.

Save

Allows the user or group to publish workbooks and data sources to the server and overwrite content on the server. The Save capability must also be allowed for the individual workbooks and data sources in the project.

When allowed, the user with a site role that supports publishing can re-publish a workbook or data source from Tableau Desktop, thereby becoming the owner and gaining all permissions.

Subsequently, the original owner's access to the workbook is determined by that user's group permissions and any further permissions the new owner might set.

This permission also determines the user's or group's ability to overwrite a workbook after editing it on the server. For related information, see Set Web Edit, Save, and Download Access on Content.

Project Leader

Allows the user or group to set permissions for all items in the project, lock project permissions, and edit default permissions.

To set permissions for the project

  1. On the Projects page, select a project, and then select Actions > Permissions.

  2. Click Add a user or group rule, select Group or User, and then select the group or user name from the list.

  3. Select a permission role template to apply an initial set of capabilities for the group or user, and then click Save.

    The available permission role templates for projects are:

    Template Description
    Viewer Allows the user or group to view the workbooks and views in the project.
    Publisher Allows the user or group to publish workbooks and data sources to the server.
    Project Leader Allows the user or group to set permissions for all items in a project.
    None Sets all capabilities for the permission rule to Unspecified.
    Denied Sets all capabilities for the permission rule to Denied.
    Data Source Connector Allows the user or group to connect to data sources in the project.
    Data Source Editor Allows the user or group to connect to, edit, download, delete, and set permissions for a data source in the projects. They can also publish data sources, and as long as they are the owner of a data source they publish, can update connection information and extract refresh schedules. This permission is relevant for views when the view they access connects to a data source.
  4. To further customize the rule, click the actions menu (. . . ) next to the permission rule name, and then click Edit. Click a capability in the rule to set it to Allowed or Denied, or leave it Unspecified. Click Save when you are done.

  5. View the resulting permissions.

    Click a group name or user name in the permission rules to see the resulting permissions. Hover over a capability box to see a tooltip with details on whether a capability is allowed or denied.

  6. Follow the same steps to configure additional permission rules on the content for more users or groups.