Was this page helpful?
Yes No
User Guide > Create Views and Dashboards > Work with Content Revisions

Work with Content Revisions

When revision history is enabled on your site and you publish a workbook or data source, Tableau Server saves a version of it in its revision history. If you want to revert to a previous version, you can go to the content in Tableau Server and restore that version.

Note: On Tableau Server, your administrator can enable revision history for both workbooks and data sources. On Tableau Online, revision history is always enabled, but for workbooks only.

In this topic

Required permissions for revision history

To access revision history, you must have a site role of Publisher, plus the following permissions for different content types: 

  • Project: View and Save

  • Workbooks in the project: View, Save, and Download Workbook/Save As

  • Data sources in the project: View, Save, and Download Data Source

Publish your content

In Tableau Desktop, click Server > Publish Workbook or Server > Publish Data Source. Make changes to the workbook or data source, and then publish it again to the same project, with the same name. (You'll need to confirm that you want to overwrite the existing content.)

You can also save workbook revisions by editing and saving a workbook in the web-authoring interface of Tableau Server.

View revision history

  • Select a workbook or data source, and from its actions menu (. . .), select Revision History.

    The following image shows a workbook's revision history.

Manage revisions

Preview a workbook revision

  • From a revision’s actions menu (. . .), select Preview.

    If a preview is available, it opens in a new tab in the browser. For workbooks that you can't preview on the server, such as those with OAuth data connections, you can download the revision and open it in Tableau Desktop.

Download a workbook or data source revision

  1. From a revision’s actions menu (. . .), select Download.

  2. Open the downloaded file in Tableau Desktop.

Restore a workbook revision

  • In the revision history, select a revision, and then click Restore.

    The restored version becomes the current version.

    Note: If a revision can't be restored directly on the server, download the revision, open it in Tableau Desktop, and republish it.

Restoring live data connections that require credentials

When a workbook uses a live data connection that prompts for a user name and password, you have the option to embed credentials for the connection. If the workbook uses a data source with multiple connections, you might need to provide credentials for each one.

Restoring data extracts with scheduled refreshes and embedded credentials

When a workbook uses data extracts with scheduled refreshes and embedded credentials, you'll need to edit the connection to provide the credentials.

Restore a data source revision

  1. From a revision’s actions menu (. . .), select Download .

  2. Open the downloaded file in Tableau Desktop, and then republish it with the same name, to the same location in Tableau Server (confirming that you want to overwrite the existing version).

    The uploaded version becomes the most current version.

Delete a workbook or data source revision from history

  1. From a revision’s actions menu (. . .), select Delete.

    The revision history list updates to indicate a revision has been deleted.

    Tip: To delete the latest revision of a data source, republish it and then delete the second most recent revision.

Potential revision history issues

Overwriting content with the same name

If a different author publishes over a workbook or data source with the same name, the most recent author becomes the owner of the content and can see its entire revision history.

Data changes and deletions

  • Workbooks and data sources are downloaded with the latest configuration of their extract or data connection. If the data model or data connection has changed between revisions, you might need to update the downloaded workbook or data source.

  • Revisions of workbooks and data sources that use .xls or .csv data are saved with an extract of that data.

  • Revisions are saved for TDE files, unless they're on a refresh schedule.

  • If a workbook or data source is deleted from a site, all revisions are also deleted.

Turning revision history on and off

If revision history is turned on and then off, saved revisions are retained, and new versions overwrite the latest version. If revision history is then turned on again, version numbering starts from the last saved revision.