Was this page helpful?
Yes No
Tableau Help > Tableau Server on Windows Help > 

Upgrade from Tableau Server 2018.1 or earlier to Tableau Server with TSM

Beginning with version 2018.2, Tableau Server on Windows is available with Tableau Services Manager (TSM). TSM is the web-based server configuration and management utility that replaces the Server Configuration utility and the tabadmin command line utility. The Tableau Server upgrade process has changed with the introduction of TSM. For information on how upgrade has changed, see Upgrade process changes.

When you upgrade from a pre-TSM version of Tableau Server (2018.1 or earlier) to a version running with TSM, you need to go through some special upgrade steps. These are required only for the pre-TSM to TSM upgrade. Pre-TSM versions of Tableau Server on Windows are versions older than 2018.2. Examples of pre-TSM versions are 9.3, 10.5, and 2018.1.

Note: With TSM, we've changed the language we use to describe the Tableau Server nodes in a distributed installation. Prior to the release of TSM we referred to the first node as the "primary" node, and any additional nodes as "worker" nodes. With TSM the nodes are more closely peers, so we refer to the first node as the "initial" node, and other nodes as "additional" nodes.

Before you upgrade

Upgrading a server-based product requires planning and preparation. Upgrading Tableau Server from version 2018.1 or earlier to version 2018.2 or later is no different. Before you upgrade your production environment, make sure you have read through and completed the following sections: Research the Upgrade, Prepare for the Upgrade, and Test the Upgrade.

As a best practice, you should always make a backup of your Tableau Server data before upgrading. This backup is necessary in the event that something unexpected happens during the upgrade, or if you need to roll back to your previous version of Tableau Server. If you create this backup yourself, you can do it while Tableau Server is running.

Understand the key aspects of upgrading to TSM

Familiarize yourself with key aspects of upgrading Tableau Server from version 2018.1 or earlier to version 2018.2.

All upgrades:

  • Local administrator—Sign in as a local administrator. You need to be signed into the Tableau Server computer as a "local admin" to run the Tableau Server Setup program, and to run scripts related to upgrading. A "local admin" is a user who's a member of the Administrators group in the Local Users and Groups management console in Windows.

  • Uninstall—Uninstall your existing pre-TSM version of Tableau Server before upgrading. Use Windows Control Panel to uninstall your existing version. Unlike earlier version upgrades which automatically uninstalled Tableau Server, upgrading to version 2018.2 or later will not do this. If you have not uninstalled your earlier version, you will be prompted to do so when you attempt to install your new version.

  • Backup—Save a backup of your earlier version to a safe place on a different computer. Uninstalling your previous version of Tableau Server will create a backup in the Tableau data directory (by default: C:\ProgramData\Tableau\Tableau Server). We strongly recommend you copy this backup to a computer that is not part of your Tableau Server installation before upgrading. This provides you with an up-to-date version of your data you can use if you need to go back to your earlier version of Tableau Server. For more information on properly preparing for an upgrade, see Prepare for the Upgrade.

  • Firewall management—Firewall management is manual. Unlike earlier versions of Tableau Server, you must manage the local firewall on any computers where you run Tableau Server. For more information, see Local firewall configuration.

  • Upgrade script—To complete the upgrade and switch to the new version, run the upgrade script upgrade-tsm.cmd in the \scripts.<version>folder of the new version you just installed.

Multi-node upgrades:

  • Uninstall—Uninstall your existing pre-TSM version of Tableau Server from all nodes before upgrading. Use Windows Control Panel to uninstall your existing version. If you have not uninstalled your earlier version, you will be prompted to do so when you attempt to install your new version.

  • Node installation—Run the installer on all nodes in a cluster. Unlike some distributed installation upgrades in versions prior to 2018.2, there is no automatic upgrade of any additional nodes.

  • Single installer—Use the same installer on all nodes. There is no separate Setup program for the additional nodes. Starting with 2018.2 you use the same installer on all nodes, and specify when prompted whether you are upgrading the initial (primary) node, or an additional (worker) node.

  • Upgrade script—To complete the upgrade and switch to the new version, after installing the new version on all nodes in your cluster, run the upgrade script upgrade-tsm.cmd in the \scripts.<version> folder of the new version you just installed.