Was this page helpful?
Yes No
Tableau Help > Tableau Server for Windows Help > 

Migrate to New Hardware

Use the following procedure to migrate Tableau Server from one computer to another. Specifically, these steps describe how to move Tableau Server data and configuration settings from your in-production computer to a new computer where Tableau Server is installed. Before you start, make sure you have followed the steps in Prepare for the Upgrade, including creating a backup. The backup is what you use to restore your Tableau Server data.

  1. Install Tableau Server on the new computer. For details, see Run Server Setup.

  2. Copy your backup file .tsbak to the bin folder on your new Tableau Server (for example, C:\Program Files\Tableau\Tableau Server\<version>\bin).

    Note: The file does not need to be in the bin directory but if it is not, you will need to include a full path to the file when you run the restore command.

  3. Next, stop Tableau Server.

  4. Restore your in-production data without configuration information to your new Tableau Server installation using the tabadmin restore command:

    tabadmin restore --no-config <filename>

    where <filename> is the name of the .tsbak file. For example:

    tabadmin restore --no-config mybackup.tsbak

    The --no-config option restores the data from your in-production Tableau Server but excludes configuration information. You need to use this option when moving to new hardware to avoid conflicts with the old configuration. After doing the restore, you may need to reconfigure some options (SMTP or proxy settings, for example).

    For more information about restoring Tableau Server data, see Restore from a Backup.

  5. Start the server.

  6. Distributed installations only: Run the Tableau worker installer on the new worker computers you want to add to your new Tableau Server cluster. See Install and Configure Worker Nodes for steps.

  7. The same Tableau Server product key can be activated three times: once for a production environment, once for a test environment, and once for a QA environment. After you have tested your new Tableau Server installation and confirmed that it's ready for production, you must deactivate your earlier production version of Tableau Server, and then you must uninstall it. To deactivate the earlier version:

    1. Select Start > All Programs > Tableau Server > Manage Product Keys.

    2. For each product key, select the product key and click Deactivate.

    Note: If you do not have an internet connection, you are prompted to create an offline activation file to complete the deactivation process. See Activate Tableau Server Offline for steps.