Was this page helpful?
Yes No
Tableau Help > Tableau Server for Windows Help > 

Add Users to the Server

In a single-site environment, server administrators can add users on the Users page.

After you add a site to Tableau Server, it becomes a multi-site server with a Server Users page (all server users from every site appear here) and a Site Users page. Only server administrators can access the Server Users page, and both site administrators and server administrators can access the Site Users page.

The Server Users page is the only place where you can assign users to multiple sites, delete users from the server, and if the server is using local authentication, reset user passwords.

The following procedure describes how to add users to the server. There are two approaches you can take: One at a time (described below) or in batches using the Import command, which relies on a CSV file (described in Import Users and CSV Import File Guidelines).

To add a user to the server

  1. In the site menu, click Manage All Sites, click Users, and then click Add Users.

  2. If you are using local authentication, click New User. If you are using Active Directory, click Active Directory User.

    Enter a user name.

    • Local authentication: If the server is using local authentication, using an email address for the user name is the best way to avoid user name collisions (for example, jsmith@example.com instead of jsmith).

    • Active Directory: If you are adding a user that is from the same Active Directory domain that the server is running on, you can type the AD user name without the domain. The server domain will be assumed.

      Before adding users, be sure to review User Management in Active Directory Deployments to understand how multiple domains, domain naming, NetBIOS, and Active Directory user name format influence Tableau user management.

      Note: Do not enter the user's full name in this field; it can cause errors during the importing process.

  3. If the server is using local authentication, provide the following:

    • Display Name—Type a display name for the user (e.g., John Smith).

    • Password—Type a password for the user.

    • Confirm password—Retype the password.

    • Email—This is optional and can be added at a later time in the user profile settings.

    • Selected users are Server Administrators: Specify whether the user should be a server administrator.

    • Name (Site Membership) / Site Role: If the user is not a server administrator, you can assign a user to zero or more sites, along with a site role for each site. You do not have to choose site membership and site role at this time. If you don't specify site membership and site role for a new server user, the user will be added as a Server User only, with a site role of Unlicensed. For details on site roles, see Set Users’ Site Roles.

  4. Click Create.