Disable Automatic Client Authentication

Tableau Server on Windows now includes Tableau Services Manager (TSM), which replaces the Configuration Utility and the tabadmin command line tool. If you need help for an earlier version of Tableau Server, see the Tableau Help page.

After Tableau Desktop clients first successfully sign in to Tableau Server, they are automatically authenticated in the future. Client sessions are managed by OAuth access and refresh tokens.

By default, all client tokens reset after a year. If a client token has not been used in 14 days, then it will expire. You can change these values by setting the refresh_token.absolute_expiry_in_seconds and refresh_token.idle_expiry_in_seconds options. See tsm configuration set Options.

As a Tableau Server administrator can also disable automatic authentication.

To immediately disconnect all clients from Tableau Server and require users to sign in every time they connect:

  1. In the site menu, click Manage All Sites, and then click Settings > General.

  2. Under Connected Clients, clear the option Allow clients to automatically connect to Tableau Server.

  3. Click Save.

Thanks for your feedback! There was an error submitting your feedback. Try again or send us a message.