Content Permissions and Ownership

In Tableau Server, you set content permissions to specify who is allowed to work with which content resources on a particular site.

For example, you can tightly restrict who has access to your company’s financial information, but widely share organizational development content.

Content resources on which you assign permissions include the following:

  • Projects

  • Workbooks

  • Data sources

  • Flows

Views in a workbook inherit permissions from the workbook, although you might have an edge case for which you want to set permissions for a single view.

What makes up a user’s permissions

When Tableau determines which tasks (or capabilities) a user is allowed to perform on a content asset, it takes the following pieces into account:

Site role: At the time that you add users to a site, you must apply a site role to them. The site role and license role are the only attributes that you apply to users (as opposed to content) to affect permissions. The site role determines the license role that the user occupies, and together they determine whether the user can publish, interact with, or only view published content on that site. See Set Users’ Site Roles.

Permissions rules and templates: You authorize content access through permissions rules. These rules describe the capabilities that you want a user or group to be able to perform on a set of content assets. Examples of capabilities include editing a view or connecting to a data source. Tableau provides a set of templates for common permissions roles, such as Editor, Project Leader, and so on.

Content ownership: By default, the person who publishes a flow, data source, or workbook to the server is the owner of that content asset. Content owners can set permissions on the content assets they own. A project owner, an administrator, or a project leader can change ownership or set defaults at the project level.

Effective permissions: are the capabilities that define what a user is allowed to do with a content resource after Tableau Server evaluates permissions rules and settings.

Who can set permissions

Among the actions that users can be allowed to do with content is the Set Permissions capability. By default, the following users can set permissions in the specified contexts:

  • Administrators, for all content on the site.

  • Project leaders, for all content in the project and its child projects.

  • Content owners, generally those who create projects or publish flows, data sources, or workbooks.

Thanks for your feedback! There was an error submitting your feedback. Try again or send us a message.